Kluane First Nation Self Government Agreement

Kluane First Nation is a self-governing first nation with a constitutional agreement on final fomentary claims and an autonomy agreement. These agreements were signed in October 2003 – the parties to the agreement are the Government of Canada, the Yukon government and the Kluane First Nation. The Kluane First Nation (KFN) is a Canadian First Nations government. The main centre is located at Burwash Landing, a yukon on the Alaska Highway, on the shores of Kluane Lake, the territory`s largest lake. The mother tongue spoken by the people of this first nation is southern Tutchone. They are called the great Lake Lé`n Mun Kun or L„n Mun Ku Don („Kluane Lake People“). With 11 revolutionary fomental claims and self-management agreements, Yukon is the leader in Canada and around the world. Umbrella`s final agreement was signed in 1993. It paved the way for individual First Nation agreements and a path of reconciliation and positive change for all Yukoners. If each first nation reaches its final agreement, it also obtains a self-management agreement (SGA). This agreement emerges from Chapter 24 of the Framework Agreement and defines the powers, authorities and responsibilities of First Nation governments.

The agreements provide funding that supports the provision of programs and services at the First Nation level. After the AMS, the First Nation now has the power to pass and pass laws about its country and its citizens, tax them, provide urban planning, and manage or manage countries and resources. Each first nation will have a constitution that will contain the membership code, establish governing bodies and provide for its powers and protect the rights and freedoms of citizens. As self-governing bodies, First Nations are not prevented from asserting the rights of a Canadian citizen or business. You can find a nation`s self-management agreement by visiting its website: Yukon`s claim and self-management agreements are the basis for lasting relationships between our societies, cultures and governments. To date, 11 First Nations have entered into self-management agreements. The Kluane occupy traditional territory that stretches from the St. Elias Mountains to the south, east through the southern end of Kluane Lake and the A`ay Chu (formerly the Slims River), through the Ruby Range to the north, which stretches almost as far as the Nisling River and west to the Yukon Alaska Border. It includes the Tachal area of Kluane National Park and Reserve. In this region, the three main topographical features are the St.